You are here:

About this Site


In 2007 NZ On Air initiated the NZ On Screen project as an integral part of its digital strategy. Since 1989 NZ On Air has funded over 15,000 hours of local television production. Much of this content, as well as thousands more hours supported by broadcasters, film investors and other funding sources, is not easily accessible to the public.

NZ On Screen is unlocking the treasure chest, providing access to the wealth of television, film and music video produced in NZ, along with knowledgeable background information.

NZ On Screen is fully funded; there is no commercial aspect. Links are provided to other sites or businesses where titles can be purchased or downloaded. NZ On Screen does not handle any transactions or carry advertising.



The NZ On Screen website went live in October 2008. NZ On Screen is funded completely by NZ On Air. $1.2 million was allocated in 2007, $1.2 million in 2008, $999,800 in 2009, $997,380 in 2010, $999,680 in 2011, $999,578 in 2012, $998,580 in 2013.

May 2013 saw the launch of sister project AudioCulture. For 2014 $1,130,000 has been allocated for both projects.



The project is governed by an independent Charitable Trust, the Digital Media Trust, comprising four independent Trustees and up to three appointed by NZ On Air.

Trustees: Teresa Shreves (Chair, lawyer), Russell Brown (media commentator), Robin Scholes (producer), Rick Davies (Head of FindSomeone at Trade Me) and Jane Wrightson (CEO, NZ On Air).


All titles included on this site have been cleared for streaming by the copyright holder(s) and broadcasters (if still under licence). See the site Terms and Conditions for more information.

Music licensed by PPNZ Music Licensing and APRA/AMCOS to reproduce and communicate musical works and sound recordings on this site.


Māori content

Māori content on the site has been curated in consultation with relevant Māori media organisations (Te Mangai Paho, Māori Television, Māori producers and production companies and iwi liaison coordinators at the NZ Film Archive and TVNZ Archives).

Māori writers have been commissioned to write perspectives about significant Māori content or that which has a strong Māori element.

Te reo is in use throughout the site on a contextual basis, reflecting the evolving kiwi lexicon and contemporary language in NZ. For translations please visit this site:


Some of the content on NZ On Screen is licensed under the “Attribution Non-Commercial” Creative Commons licence.

Creative Commons Attribution Noncommercial 3.0 New Zealand Licence

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 Unported Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 Unported liencse

NZ On Screen content covered by this licence includes:

  • Synopses and backgrounds relating to titles, collections and music videos
  • Synopses and biographies relating to people
  • All video and written content on ScreenTalk

This licence lets others remix, tweak, and build upon our work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge NZ On Screen and be non-commercial, they don't have to licence their derivative works on the same terms.

Video content and photographs from films, television programmes and music videos is NOT included in this licence and are NOT available for distribution.

Find out more about Creative Commons.


Strategic Partners

NZ On Screen has received outstanding support from a number of screen industry-related organisations. The Trust would like to thank in particular:

  1. Television New Zealand: establishing for a policy which allows NZ On Screen to include and access titles that are produced by or under licence to TVNZ
  2. The NZ Film Commission: for providing access to NZ shorts and feature films as well as a number of television dramas
  3. TV3/MediaWorks, Prime Television and Māori Television: for providing access to a number of television programmes for the site
  4. Archives New Zealand: for facilitating access to the National Film Unit collection as well as other historical screen footage included in their archives
  5. NZ Film Archive: for facilitating access to their collection
  6. The Ministry for Culture and Heritage
  7. SPADA, the Screen Directors Guild and the NZ Writers Guild for supporting this site among their members
  8. APRA|AMCOS and Recorded Music NZ for assistance with music rights clearances
  9. The Dominion Post: for providing access to their extensive archive of photographs for inclusion on the site
  10. Onfilm: for providing access to their extensive archive of photographs for inclusion on the site
  11. National Library of New Zealand/Digital NZ
  12. And every programme and filmmaker who has understood and supported the dream by making their content available for audiences to enjoy all over again


The project team responsible for NZ On Screen includes:

  • Tess Bullen – Project Director
  • Irene Gardiner – Content Director
  • Ian Pryor – Web Editor
  • Paul Ward – Senior Writer
  • Kim Baker – Rights Executive
  • Michael Potton – Sourcing and Digital Advisor
  • James Kirkus-Lamont – Digital Designer/Producer
  • Alex Backhouse – Video Editor
  • Andrew Whiteside – ScreenTalk Director
  • Lorna Subritzky – Online Publicist

A number of people have contributed to the collections, backgrounds, synopses and biographies throughout the site, and/or have provided their time, energy and inspiration. These include: Brenda Leeuwenberg, Roger Horrocks, Whai Ngata, Russell Brown, Veronica Harwood Stevenson, Sarah Jane Miller, Michael Higgins, Chris Bourke, David Geary, Toby Manhire, Keith Quinn, Clive Sowry, Keith Tannock, Mark Amery, Oscar Kightley, Jock Phillips, Chris Pugsley, Paul Casserly, Barney McDonald, Roger Shepherd, Philip Wakefield, Peter Hayden, Keith Aberdein, Steve La Hood, Juliette Veber, Claire Regnault, Fiona Hawtin, Clare O'Leary, Monika Ahuriri, Catherine Bisley, Costa Botes, Doug Coutts, Rachel Davies, Mary Jane Duffy, Debbie Martin, Philip Bell, Glenis Giles, Tony Hiles, Lissa Mitchell, Owen Hughes, Helen Jamieson, Richard King, Mihi Murray, Maraea Rakuraku, Annie Simon, Makerita Urale, Bianca Zander, Paul Diamond, Paula Yeoman, Marlene Thies, James Coleman, Leonardo Guerchmann, Kylie Buck, Catherine Juniot, Jason Post, Dominic Corry, Roger Donaldson, Alun Bollinger, Jason Gunn, Simon Prast, Miranda Harcourt, Roger Gascoigne, Judy Callingham, Susan Wood, Toa Fraser, Maurice Gee, Greg Broardmore, Eric Young, Burton Silver, Tim Watkin, Mat Elliott, Jo Smith, Anahera Higgins, Gemma Gracewood, Clarion Wells.