We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.
Profile image for Blam Blam Blam

Blam Blam Blam

Post-punk trio Blam Blam Blam coalesced in Auckland from the remains of band The Whizz Kids: Don McGlashan (drums), Mark Bell (guitar) and Tim Mahon (bass). Their second single was ‘There is No Depression in New Zealand’ — legendary theme song for the Springbok Tour-marred winter of 1981. A van crash seriously injured Mahon and spelt the end of the Blam. McGlashan later formed The Mutton Birds, before going solo. Mark Bell played in Coconut Rough and The Jordan Luck Band, and has written for NZ Musician. Tim Mahon joined Dead Sea Scrolls and spent time as Manukau City Council's arts coordinator.