We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.




Full screen
Video quality

Low 0 MB

High 0 MB


Hero image for Standing in the Sunshine - Power

Standing in the Sunshine - Power

Television (Full Length Episode) – 1993

In 1893 New Zealand women won their right to vote, but it took another 40 years until Elizabeth McCombs entered Parliament as the country's first female MP. Series Standing in the Sunshine was made to celebrate the suffrage centennial year. In this episode a gallery of female MPs including Helen Clark, Ruth Richardson, Jenny Shipley and Marilyn Waring discuss Parliament's overwhelmingly male environment and its slow recognition of women's realities. For other political players like Eva Rickard, Donna Awatere Huata and Hekia Parata, political power and gender roles are more nuanced in te ao Māori.

What we did in the 70s was to recapture a vision that had been there all along. In 1840 our people had sovereignty, we had no idea of giving it up, we had a notion of sharing it in partnership with the settlers who came here. We lost it down the track. In the 70s we simply brought that vision back to the public fore.
– Donna Awatere Huata on Māori political activism in the 1970s

Key Cast & Crew

Generic Profile image for Wendy Jackson

Wendy Jackson

Narration Script

Generic Profile image for Hineani Melbourne

Hineani Melbourne

Associate Producer

Generic Profile image for Sandra Coney

Sandra Coney

Writer, Executive Producer

Profile image for Jan Preston

Jan Preston


Generic Profile image for Carol Archie

Carol Archie


Generic Profile image for Judy Rymer

Judy Rymer


See all 26 credits

Produced by

Logo for Isambard Productions

Isambard Productions