We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.

Dancing with the Stars

Television, 2005–2009, 2015, 2018-2019, 2022

Based on a UK reality format, Dancing with the Stars sees a line-up of celebrities paired with a professional dance partner, and put through ballroom dance routines. Judges and a public vote eliminate a pair each week. A five-time winner of best programme in its category, the show played for five hit seasons on TVNZ, hosted by Jason Gunn and Candy Lane. In 2015 the show moved channels with TV3 picking up the format; Dominic Bowden and Sharyn Casey hosted. Dai Henwood and Casey presented the seventh and eighth series and Clint Randell joined Casey for the ninth in 2022. Winners have included Norm Hewitt and Suzanne Paul.