We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.

Pepsismokefree Rockquest 2000

Television (Full Length) – 2000

Since 1988 the Smokefreerockquest's nationwide talent competition has been a rite of passage for school-age musicians, offering substantial cash prizes and the promise of a shortcut to global (or at least local) fame. In this TV special Hugh Sundae meets the class of 2000, including Nesian Mystik, Evermore (then the youngest band ever to compete at the finals) and future members of Die! Die! Die! in Dunedin art-rockers Carriage H. True to the period, there's also plenty of squeaky nu-metal riffs and liberally-applied Dax Wax.

A music industry will be watching, and the folks back home will be rooting.
– Hugh Sundae’s tough-in-cheek commentary

Key Cast & Crew

Generic Profile image for Hugh Sundae

Hugh Sundae


Profile image for Dean Cornish

Dean Cornish

Director, Camera

Generic Profile image for Jude Callen

Jude Callen


Generic Profile image for Clayton Carpinter

Clayton Carpinter

Sound Recordist

Generic Profile image for Ralf Hawley

Ralf Hawley


Generic Profile image for Todd Ranson

Todd Ranson


See all 13 credits


Made with funding from NZ On Air


Main theme 'The General Electric' by Shihad
'Tears' by Evermore
'Let's Dance' by Nesian Mystik
'Check Your Head' by 1QA
'Like Circles' by Utopia
'Living Room' by Orca
'Monk' by Carriage H
'Home' by Funk Monkees
'Surely' by Jerihko